Il Grappolo in Rozelle

I had an amazing pizza last night with really disappointing service. I ordered takeaway for dinner, from Il Grappolo in Rozelle. It had a great rating on Urbanspoon and I was craving delicious pizza!

Alarm bells started when I called up to order, after perusing the online menu from their own website, which stated free delivery. I was told that there was a minimum purchase price of $20, after asking for the Prosciutto pizza, which WAS $20 on the website. I was charged $21 upon delivery.

I didn’t question it at the time as I don’t like to cause a fuss, but first of all the woman on the phone made it sound as though the pizza was LESS than the minimum $20 order for free delivery, and then I was asked for MORE than the purchase price on a supposedly “free delivery”.

Il Grappolo Prosciutto Pizza

Il Grappolo Prosciutto Pizza

It’s especially sad because the pizza was so yummy! I’m not a fan of misleading websites and businesses that are happy to lure people in with false promises. If you’re not happy with a minimum $20 order for free delivery (to a location which is 850 metres away!) then say so, amend your policies to a minimum order you are happy with, or tell the customer on the phone the true price and don’t advertise free delivery.
Il Grappolo Cucina e Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Il Grappolo in Rozelle

  1. IL Grappolo

    Dear customer,
    I am the manager of IL Grappolo and I appreciate your feedback, as I cannot be everywhere and answer every phone call, it is very important to me to hear back from our customers. So thank you very much for that! And I am very happy to hear that even the trouble that this misunderstanding caused you, you have enjoyed the pizza.
    I take your comments seriously and I absolutely agree with you that misleading information is very upsetting and we are certainly not trying to do that with our customers.
    I have double checked our website and it says that Prosciuto pizza is $ 21.
    However, I will ensure that the staff members are more aware and knowledgeable about the pricing.
    I hope you will give us another try in the future. The free delivery is $ 20 minimum and we also do 10 % discount on take away – if you live in the area it might be an option for you, on busy nights it’s also a faster option.
    Yet again we appologies for the misunderstading.
    Kind regards,
    IL Grappolo

    • Thanks so much for the quick reply! The pizza definitely was delicious and didn’t take long at all to arrive which was great.

      To order the pizza, I clicked on the image link at the top right of your website which states, “Free home delivery/10% discount on pickup”. That image link took me to this page: http://www.ilgrappolo.com.au/TA.html, which lists the pizza as $20, whereas the menu on another part of your website has it as $21. Maybe it just hasn’t been updated?

Leave a Reply

