Haigh’s Chocolates

When I graduated from University, my grandma gave me a box of Haigh’s Chocolates.

Haigh’s is a South Australian icon. With their Beehive Corner store on Rundle Mall and the visitor centre on Greenhill Road, Parkside, as well as locations in the Adelaide Arcade and the Adelaide Central Markets, Adelaideans are spoilt for choice.

Luckily for me, Haigh’s has also opened stores interstate, with two locations in Sydney, NSW. It’s always heartwarming to see people walk past me in the city toting bags and boxes of Haigh’s goodies. When I walk past it’s hard not to buy a truffle or two.

I would like to recommend the raspberry truffle, a dark chocolate exterior, a white chocolate layer and a filling of slightly tart raspberry in the middle. Or the Peach Melba, a limited edition white chocolate truffle with pieces of peach and a delicate peach flavour. I love the tang of the lemon truffle, encased in white chocolate.
If you like creams, it’s hard to pass on the rose or violet creams, which have strong flower notes. The flavours are always impeccable.

Another drawcard is getting a chocolate tasting at the end! One of my friends said she once bought something and they didn’t offer her a tasting, so she stood there for a while until the staff member offered her one.

Haigh's Chocolates Original Store on Urbanspoon

 

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Haigh’s Chocolates

  1. Oh, I love that place! I go to visit when I’m in town for the annual Cheese Fest.

Leave a Reply

