The Ramen Diaries, Part 4 – Ramen Zundo

Ramen Zundo is the fourth ramen place I’ve had the pleasure of visiting as I attempt to eat my way through each and every ramen joint in the Sydney CBD and surrounds. It’s probably the closest contender to Gumshara so far with a thicker, more gelatinous broth than either Ippudo or Ramen Kan. While it’s thick, there is a grittiness to the soup that I found unpalatable. The flavour was nice, but by the end of a whole bowl I was getting tired of it.

Ramen Zundo - Black garlic tonkotsu

Ramen Zundo – Black garlic tonkotsu

I’d say this soup is not for the faint hearted. The cabbage was a nice touch, adding a sweet crunch and helping to break up the flavour a little. You can use condiments such as chilli powder, vinegar, soy sauce and chilli oil. I would enjoy some pickled garlic and ginger to add as well, like Gumshara.

The noodles in the soup were nice, able to hold the soup and having a nice amount of chewiness. The black garlic oil is one of my favourite additions to a soup and I found this version just as nice. The pork was tender and tasty, I just wished it had a little more fat (I love fat!) as lots of reviews had actually mentioned the amount of marbled fat in the meat and praised it!

I like Ramen Zundo well enough, but it’s not a place I’m excited about returning to.

Ramen Zundo on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Ramen

Leave a Reply

