The Ramen Diaries, Part 14 – Condor Japanese Restaurant

Condor Ramen, the fourteenth and last of the first round of ramen reviews for Sydney CBD. I almost didn’t visit Condor as it didn’t strike me as exciting, but in the end I really wanted to have a well-rounded review list. Many other bloggers have attempted to review Sydney’s ramen joints, but most haven’t been so thorough. Plenty of the reviews are dated now, as well, and some shops have opened and closed since.

I’ve also whittled down the second tier reviews to seven establishments. Bear in mind, though, that a couple of these are solely to try a different dish in the hope that I will find something better (I’m especially thinking of Ichi Ban Boshi here, as so many people are fans, and I wasn’t at all on my first visit – hopefully their tonkotsu will win my heart).

Condor Ramen Miso Teriyaki Chicken

Condor Ramen Miso Teriyaki Chicken

Condor Japanese Restaurant is next door to Goshu. They are rivals but I don’t think they are doing much with their rivalry! Both limit options to the bland (in my opinion) kind – soy, miso bases but no tonkotsu. Corn comes standard. Condor’s corn doesn’t sit so well, but Goshu’s melds into the dish. Strike for Condor. 

Their noodles are good, the broth is uninspiring. Nothing seems wrong with it, but nothing’s right either. The egg is overcooked and has no flavour. The bamboo shoots are nice but bamboo shoots won’t get me back!

Condor Ramen Miso Karaage Chicken

Condor Ramen Miso Karaage Chicken

The chicken karaage is meant to be pretty good! Crunchy and satisfying. But toppings don’t compensate for an insipid broth that doesn’t hold a candle to some miso bases that I’ve tried in other establishments.

If you’re in the area and looking for ramen, out of the two, I’d go Goshu. Condor would be fine if your expectations were low, but if you want something rich and satisfying, I’d recommend heading down to Haymarket.

Condor Japanese Restaurant on Urbanspoon

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “The Ramen Diaries, Part 14 – Condor Japanese Restaurant

  1. JK

    Not horrible but not great either. Treat yourself to somewhere in Haymarket (e.g. Gumshara, Ramen Ikkyu).

Leave a Reply

