Mamak, Haymarket

Roti Canai

Roti Canai

Mamak’s roti canai is amazing. Two curry dipping sauces and a dollop of sambal with a light, fluffy roti to rip apart with your fingers and dunk. There was a hint of spice to the curries and the roti was sweet and perfect for soaking up the flavours. This is a roti not to miss, even though I’m usually against ordering entrees!

Teh Tarik

Teh Tarik

Like last week, I had to have milk tea. It’s so comforting and sugary. It’s great to have something to calm the fires if a curry happens to be too spicy, as well!

Kari Ayam and Nasi Lemak

Kari Ayam and Nasi Lemak

We ordered nasi lemak with a side of curry fish. That was a great idea, although the bones were something to keep an eye on (same for the kari ayam!) I loved the crunchy fishies and the coconut rice. The chicken curry was fantastic, with cardamom pods and star anise floating around, a salty, tasty curry. These mains were great.

Pandan coconut roti

Pandan coconut roti

We waited a while before managing to capture the wait staff’s attention. This place is busy! We ordered the pandan and coconut roti, although there were plenty of desserts that looked tempting! This was soft, tasty and a perfect way to end the meal.

I spent the rest of the afternoon and evening feeling sluggish and full, but very content. I’m glad I got to visit Mamak! They have great food, reasonable prices and a very loyal following. Get there early, it’s usually busy around lunchtime. It opens at 11:30!

Mamak on Urbanspoon

6 Comments

Filed under Food

6 responses to “Mamak, Haymarket

  1. ~this post makes me miss Msia!yummy! :)

    • It’s so tasty! I wish I hadn’t waited so long to try it – I always went past when the lines were really long. I’m glad I’ve tried it now :)

  2. yum! love the pandan roti! soo good

  3. Yum, I’m a big fan of their roti canai!

Leave a Reply

